Heart of the Arts

About Heart of the Arts

The National High School Spirit of Sport Award is annually conferred to eight section recipients as well as one national recipient. The recipient must be an individual from a high school that is a member of an NFHS-member athletic or activity association.

Heart of the Arts Awards

  • Leia Schwartz

    Despite almost dying from a collapsed lung at age six and dealing with medical issues her entire life, Leia Schwartz of Miami (Section 3 Florida) Coral Reef High School has excelled in the performing arts, athletics and academics. Schwartz was also selected the national recipient of the “National High School Heart of the Arts Award”



    • Derrick Hopkins Theatre
      Section 1 Willsboro Central School New York
    • Jennifer Moore Theatre
      Section 1 Willsboro Central School New York
    • Abby Leonard Music, Debate, & Theatre
      Section 2 Gate City High School Virginia
    • Lydia Dawley Theatre
      Section 4 Decorah High School Iowa
    • Justin Speck Theatre
      Section 5 Rapid City Central High School South Dakota
    • Frank Sferra Speech
      Section 6 Denver Mullen High School Colorado
    • Clin Eaton Music & Theatre
      Section 7 Riverton High School Utah
    • Aubrie Lucas Music
      Section 8 Anchorage Dimond High Schoo Alaska