• Home
  • Articles
  • Mark Dreibelbis Named 2014 NFHS Coach Educator

Mark Dreibelbis Named 2014 NFHS Coach Educator

By on July 28, 2014 Awards


The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has selected Mark Dreibelbis, assistant commissioner of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA), as the recipient of the 2014 NFHS Coach Educator of the Year Award.

In addition to directing NCHSAA Student Services and serving as supervisor of officials, Dreibelbis oversees the association’s coach education program. He has promoted and endorsed coach education in his state since the inception of the NFHS Fundamentals of Coaching (FOC) course in 2007.

In large part because of his efforts, North Carolina has a coach education requirement that all new coaches and all non-faculty or volunteer coaches complete the NFHS Fundamentals of Coaching course. Dreibelbis has presented more than 50 sessions of the classroom version of the course to coaches and administrators across the state. In addition, he has trained more than 25 additional instructors in North Carolina.

As an additional incentive for coaches, Dreibelbis initiated a grant program offering a 50-percent rebate of the course to any coach upon completion of the course. While the promotion was initially aimed at voluntary completion of the course, he worked with the NCHSAA Board of Directors to mandate the course for non-faculty and new-hire coaches. With North Carolina now accepting both the blended and online versions of the Fundamentals of Coaching course, the state currently has more than 11,000 FOC course completions.

Among his other coach education initiatives, Dreibelbis is working toward requiring all North Carolina coaches to earn the NFHS Accredited Interscholastic Coach (AIC) certification. He also was responsible for requiring coaches who are ejected from a game to take the NFHS “Teaching and Modeling Behavior” course before they can return to coaching, as well as spearheading the effort for coaches and officials to take the NFHS “Concussion in Sports – What You Need to Know” course. Within the last year, he has started a coaches workshop that includes role modeling, mentoring and the role of the coach.

Previous recipients of the NFHS Coach Educator Award include Kathy Vruggink Westdorp, Michigan, 2013: Nancy O’Neil, Massachusetts, 2012; Bruce Brown, Ohio, 2011; Bobby Guthrie, North Carolina, 2010; and Mike Maghan, Oregon; Lavonne Norman, Alaska; and Ken Yamase (posthumous), Hawaii, all for 2009.

The NFHS Coach Education Program can be accessed at www.nfhslearn.com.


This press release was written by Barbara Green Johnson, AIC, administrative assistant with the NFHS who works with the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Coach Education Program.